Angela Stalcup's Communication Studies Blog

Home » COMM 601 » Thesis Statement: Shawshanking it (Week 3)

Thesis Statement: Shawshanking it (Week 3)

For our Inquiry Project, I’m choosing this famous line from the 1994 film The Shawshank Redemption. This has been a popular expression in our family since the movie was released, but it became even more poignant and meaningful when my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer.

Along with Burke’s theory that we will be applying for this exercise, I see applications to this experience in phenomenology (how my mother created her own reality) and rhetoric (how my mom crafted a story of her illness and how we as a family responded to it).

Thus, for my thesis statement I propose:: The Shawshank Redemption provides “equipment for living” for a person facing a terminal illness.

Leave a Reply

