Angela Stalcup's Communication Studies Blog

Home » COMM 601 » Digital Presentation–Shawshank as equipment for dying (Week 8)

Digital Presentation–Shawshank as equipment for dying (Week 8)

Read the entire paper here.

Hear Kaye tell her story here:

References

Adams, T. (2007). A review of narrative ethics. Conference Papers — National Communication Association, 1-32.

Burke, K. (1973). The philosophy of literary form (3rd ed.). Berkeley, California: University of California Press.

Campbell, J.,  Moyers, B. (1988). The Power of Myth. [Television series]. Retrieved online from http://billmoyers.com/content/ep-1-joseph-campbell-and-the-power-of-myth-the-hero%E2%80%99s-adventure-audio/

Darabont, F. (1994). The Shawshank Redemption.[Motion picture].USA: Castle Rock Entertainment.

Darabont, F. & King, S. (1994). The Shawshank Redemption. [Film script]. Retrieved online from http://www.imsdb.com/scripts/Shawshank-Redemption,-The.html

Littlejohn, Stephen W. & Foss, Karen A. (2011). Theories of Human Communication. Long Grove, Illinois: Waveland Press, Inc.

Stalcup, K. (2012). The Lady Penelope Chronicles—2011-2012. Unpublished manuscript.

Young, S. (2000). Movies as equipment for living: A developmental analysis of the importance of film in everyday life. Critical studies in media communication, 17, 447-468.

Won, H.S; Chun, S.H;  Kim, B.S; Chung, S.R; Yoo, I.R.; Jung, C.K.; Kim, Y.S.; Sun, D.I.; Kim, MS;  Kang, JH.  (2009, December). Treatment outcome of maxillary sinus cancer.  Rare Tumors 1(2). doi:  10.4081/rt.2009.e36. Retrieved online from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2994449/

Zhang, P., Zhao,Y. & Yang, X. (2012). The Rhetorical-Theatrical Sensibility as Equipment for Living. ETC.: A review of general semantics, 69(2), 186–196.

5 Comments

  1. stacia222 says:

    Wow Angela. Let me start by saying that the video of your mother describing the “pink cloud of love” was extremely touching. What I found remarkable was her positive attitude. She spoke of how despite losing all of her hair, experiencing embarrassing moments and suffering from sinus cancer, she felt more love during this time in her life than any other. I found this touching and inspiring. I also want to say that I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope you can find solace in the fact that your mother is continuing to touch the hearts and inspire others who she never even met, as she has certainly inspired me and I’m sure her story will inspire other classmates as well.

    Your presentation on The Shawshank Redemption was wonderful. I greatly enjoyed reading your paper and viewing your presentation. I like how you embraced the new tool, Prezi. I actually originally used the tree theme as well and changed it after I saw your presentation, as I didn’t want to use the same exact theme! Great minds think alike!

    Your thesis was explicit and you reinforced it throughout your paper and presentation. It was clear from the beginning that you were going to reinforce how Shawshank Redemption served as equipment for living for those who are dying. Your paper and presentation was clear, concise and consistent. You interwove personal experiences with the movie data seamlessly.

    I had the benefit of peer reviewing your paper in addition to viewing your final product, so I had the joy of seeing your research grow and blossom. On your presentation, I like how you organized your information, as it helped the viewer follow how you used your research, methodology, data and analysis. I also liked your inclusion of video, pictures and text.

    From what I understand, you are articulating the connection between the statement, “Get busy living or get busy dying” from The Shawshank Redemption and your personal experience with your mother embracing that mindset as she was dying from terminal sinus cancer.

    In an effort to provide constructive feedback on your presentation, I loved the video of your mother and I feel that you could have included that as supplemental data in your Prezi instead of a stand-alone video. Additionally, in the beginning of your presentation in the Literature Review section, there is a listing of data with resources. Another way to approach that section would be to provide a summary and then include the resources in the works cited section.

    You did an amazing job in your paper and presentation. Not only have you successfully applied equipment of living to this film, but you have provided personal examples that have served as inspiration. Thank you for sharing your personal story.

    • Thanks for the feedback! I had planned to include my mom’s video in the presentation, but I couldn’t bear to watch it. It’s one of those beautiful momentos that for me is still too emotional to look at right now. 🙂

  2. […] I felt like their application of equipment for living was seamless. For example, I felt like Angela Stalcup did an amazing job at applying equipment for living to The Shawshank Redemption. She married the […]

  3. […] one of the traditions were used at least once (poor cybernetics). For me, some stand-outs include Angela Stalcup’s analysis of The Shawshank Redemption, Peggy McGill’s analysis of Up, Nicole Hunt’s analysis of […]

Leave a Reply

